DISQUS

John Cow dot COM: Can You Spell B A N N E D?

  • mahdi yusuf · 2 years ago
    hahah thats some crazy, i wonder how it happened? or was it on purpose? so random don't you think :evil:
  • Ashwin · 2 years ago
    yeah, that is weird. something :evil: is going on!
  • Josh Buckley · 2 years ago
    it is very weird :evil:
  • Ali · 2 years ago
    So you banned their IP address from accessing your blog?
  • John Cow · 2 years ago
    Yeah, leave more bandwidth for the real fans! :)
  • Enkay Blog · 2 years ago
    I noticed some similar type of activity on my blog however this time the referrer was showing up as "Blocked" so that was a bit weird.
  • Markk · 2 years ago
    I guess something fishy is going on. Are they preparing to dump a truckload of cow dung on good, clean fun cow county? Looking forward for new developments.
  • Fatgadget · 2 years ago
    I bet the Big Beef has hired someone to spy on you Mad Cows, he is evil after all :twisted:
  • Kevin · 2 years ago
    I've had weird situations like this on one of my sites as well. Someone hogged up 800mb of bandwidth on one of my sites in one day and had already done 300mb the next day when i B A N N E D him. The funny thing is, the site only has about 600mb of content. Not sure what the hell it was but it wasn't a spider.
  • Sam Breadstone · 2 years ago
    Damn spy cows.
  • cooliojones · 2 years ago
    Better safe than sorry. Especially with having ads up on a site, you don't want too much questionable attention! But do you think that it was a result of the "train?"
  • Vijay Teach Me · 2 years ago
    ____________
    ( pinging me )
    ( 361 times )
    ( for milk?? )
    -------------
    O
    O ^__^
    o (oo)\_______
    (__)\ )\/\
    ||----w |
    || ||


    Love
    Vijay
  • Vijay Teach Me · 2 years ago
    Oh ho crap....

    What happened to the formating... of the pasture...

    Mooohooo
  • John Buffalo · 2 years ago
    I'll Drive by and check it out for you ... I don't think Google has any DC in these parts thought!

    "COME ON BOYS, Time to MOOOOVE!"
  • PlatinumGirl · 2 years ago
    My, My. Didnt know this plugin existed. Its a great handy plugin. I guess its more for popular sites like JohnCow, cos others just wanna milk it and milk it empty ...... moooo :razz:
  • Forest Parks · 2 years ago
    It was John Chow I tell ya!

    Watch that fellow :)
  • cooliojones · 2 years ago
    I don't he has that much time in the world, with doing interviews w/ Leo Laporte and fine dining at the finest restaurants. :)
  • Blog Contests · 2 years ago
    My first thought is it is a addon for firefox that went awry. Someone doing a search not getting anything, trying again, not getting anything, etc.

    At a party some months ago someone jumped onto my computer and was using it to search for a movie star. They kept typing in the name of the star, but were using my special toolbar to search programming sites only. So the custom google search engine I had had a LOT of queries for 'odd' stuff and it took me a while to figure out why they all came from my IP. Just a semi drunk friend not understanding why imdb wouldn't come up.
  • papajoneh · 2 years ago
    Just wanna say thanks for the plugin and info. I hope the person learned something here. Should not mess with the Moo. :wink:
  • macewan · 2 years ago
    Thanks for the information. I was able to use the tools page linked to to help locate more information about a local IP that has been leave me comment spam - 75.110.32.178.

    They keep leaving insulting comments about a page I published about a local county commissioner that had set up splogs.

    http://www.macewan.org/2006/09/27/stan-deathera...
  • cooliojones · 2 years ago
    New theory: On John Chow's page he talks about using a plugin for Firefox that refreshes the pages according to your preferences. So maybe the culprit was trying to give you more exposure and increase your Alexa rating, but didn't realize the damage they were doing?

    Something like this can really wreck havoc on a blog that is using any advertising method because it looks very suspicious to the sponsor of the ads. And as of late I have realized that 'haters' or very unscrupulous people could try to do something like that intentionally. How in the world -- short of banning like you did -- can you find out about something like this in time enough to take decisive and sufficient action to stop and prevent it from occurring again?
  • Israel · 2 years ago
    it was either auto refreshing or he got click happy.